I didn’t have a pair of red shoes! The award post.

But now I have a pair of virtual red shoes, actually only one red shoe.  I am waiting for the other shoe to drop… something like that. What does that Mean! Where did that expression come from? Don’t you ever wonder about some of these sayings? What other shoe? And where is it dropping from?

However, I was awarded the Red Educational Shoe Award by Katherine Ingrid whose poetical charm has been gently seeping into our subconscious as she very quietly takes over the world with words and art.

Thank you so much Kathryn.  This is an exciting one to pass on, though as usual it  took some thinking about.  You see there is an element of teaching and learning in each of my carefully collected blog buddies who have carefully collected me in return.   The Kitchens Garden comments section is where an enormous amount of information lands and I am endlessly impressed by how much I can learn from your comments.  And wonderfully, a person’s comment is my introduction to their blog.  So first I need to thank you all for taking the bull by the horns and just putting in your tuppeny’s worth.  And this is where I began my search for just a few of the many deserving pages.

I would like to pass this Red Shoe Award to:

Maggie from Mehaffey Farm who is a stand out gardener who feeds many families from her farm, and always adds information to her comments. I have learnt piles since she found me.

Linda.  from Savoring Every Bite. I have been looking for an award that would suit our Linda and I know this is the one. Personally I think she would look great in red shoes. Also she is a Midwest girl (now in Florida) and cooks with an Italian flair that teaches me non- stop!  I listen to her and just know that she really does savor every bite she takes! A lovely generous supportive personality.

Rumpy Dog speaks out about animals from all walks of life but mostly about dogs and cats who have been abandoned and found. There are many happy endings on these pages and much to learn.  All dogs like red shoes!

Audrey from Minnesota Prairie Roots passionately loves the little towns that surround her and takes her camera along.  She is a writer. She is always informative and kind. She is another one who is unstintingly generous with her helpful comments.

Sharyn from Kale Chronicles is on a mission to cook and eat seasonally and has a very special ability to illustrate her work. Pop over and you will see what I mean. Also she is kind enough to pop in with info and help when she thinks I need it which is often.  She is new to the farmy pages and a wonderful find.

Charlie from Hotly Spiced. When I read her About page I laughed out loud. You will see why if you have time to pop in.   She has taught me that writing a blog IS Writing!

So hang this cool award on your walls and pass it along whenever you feel like it.

While we are on the subject of awards-  Two Big Hearty Thank You’s.

I need to thank the lovely Gretchen for tagging me to answer a few questions that I answered in this post.  She blogs in between writing (which means she writes in between writings!?) and also lives out on the land. Or I guess it would be better  to say the land lives around her.

And  also I thank Natalie from What we Ate Today for mentioning me again in conjunction with the Versatility Award. I have received this a few times already so I am beginning to feel very versatile indeed. Thank you so much Natalie.  Pop over and visit as she has some stunning food over there!

Now if you are anything like me you are feeling desperate to start growing things. Spring is coming but we have to get through half of February before sowing the brassicas.  Also as you remember I like to eat what I grow, avoiding imported so called ‘fresh’ vegetables and foods.  My freezer food is getting low and I have more empty jars than full ones now and  my gardens are covered in snow, so to combat the scurvy, here is what I am growing:

I put a bed of rocks in an enamel basin for drainage, filled the basin with potting mix and sowed thick lettuce seed. This is sitting in a bright South window in a cool room, and I pop it outside anytime we get above 38F.  I water it with a mister so the tiny plants do not get knocked down by heavy watering.  You can eat them at the microgreen stage but I like to let them go a little further and get a bigger mouthful.

So in a few weeks I will get a pair of little scissors and I shall cut a salad of baby lettuce leaves!    If I am careful to only give the wee plants mini haircuts then the plant will keep growing greens for me. It may be a small salad but it will be delightfully tasty and it gives me something green to take care of until I can start seriously sowing seed. Until then I am forcing myself to sit on my hands. Of course John is already way ahead of me.  He very carefully cleans and stores his little pots every year and has them filled with tomatoes and cabbage already, but soon he will run out of his orange pots and he will be begging me for paper ones! 

It looks like it will be a warmer day today with a high of 47F forecast, so the plants will get to go outside this afternoon.   The sun is coming up and will peek out before disappearing behind a heavy cover of  clouds.  So I had better scuttle back down my ladder and rug up and get out into the barn.  TonTon and I have another flock of chickens and cats to look after for a while as my neighbour has been called away, so it is busy busy (my favourite!).

If the light is good I shall collect some farmy shots for you today. I look forward to that.

Good morning!

c

88 responses to “I didn’t have a pair of red shoes! The award post.”

  1. Congrats, Celi, for your lates, well-deserved awards! You certainly have taught this city boy a thing or two and I look forward to each and every day’s lesson. Good afternoon!

  2. Well done, Celi. One of the things I enjoy about you getting so many awards is that I am lead to new blogs. So, thanks for ‘winning’.

  3. It’s a shame you don’t have a donate button! I’d certainly donate to this outstanding blog! I guess for now i’ll settle for bookmarking and adding your RSS feed to my Google account. I look forward to new updates and will talk about this site with my Facebook group. Talk soon!

    • Thank you Seo, I did not know there was even such a thing as a donate button! The things you learn! And thank you so much for you lovely words! See you soon.. c

  4. I like both Viv’s and Paul’s explanation of the “other” shoe dropping. I’ve always heard it as an omen type thing. Even if it was something good that happened “first shoe” you better wait for the “other shoe” to drop it could be something bad. Or if it was something bad first it could be even worse the next. So you don’t “fly off the handle” to fast, wait for the other shoe to drop.

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com